top of page

DAY10 *Building the Tower of Babel

The myth of a tower appears in many indigenous cultures around the world, with humans willing to reach the sky and god(s) interrupting their efforts. In the biblical story the Tower of Babel is an attempt of humans to overcome godā€™s will, thus securing the existence of humanity. God then intervenes by confusing humansā€™ speech, so that people can no longer understand each other. This event should explain the multiplicity of languages in the world. But curiously the existence of the same story being repeated in different sometimes completely remote cultures suggests that inherently we are all using the same language.

Confined in our houses these days we have a good opportunity to think about the multitude concepts we are surrounded by. This multiplicity is reflected in objects we store in our abodes. Letā€™s take this abundance of apparently distinct things and put it together by building a tower. This tower can be treated as a collection of curiosities, a life story, a way to discover hidden connections between objects.

Action:

Build a tower out of objects in your house (make sure to use different ones).

Look at your creation and tell a short story by describing single objects AND/OR what these objects tell about your life AND/OR how these objects come to singularity by some implicit connections between them.


Make a photo of your tower add short description of your findings and send to info [at] mohaproject com.


Ivan

My description:

My tower is a reflection of an object-austere student life I am living at the moment. Kitchenware, as the most sturdy things I have, constitute its base. Study books (a few paper ones I own) represent the objects with large flat surfaces, perfect for making building blocks. A can with a ā€˜gallant sceneā€™ is a recent acquisition from a local kringloopwinkel. Small objects like massage ball, seashells, spike wrench and others are non-essential for the construction of the tower. Wall filler tells about my attempts to fix my apartment. There is no complete story without a toilet paper, of course. Its spiraling appearance reminds us of a Tower of Babel depicted by Bruegel. Some cards on top of the duct tape represent my identity and rights. A lamp above them is a reference to the recently watched film The Lighthouse (strongly non-recommended for everyone suffering their confinements). Finally, the tower is ā€˜crownedā€™ by an egg, a perfect object to put on top of anything




Tower from Deniz

Base pot: SetarehĀ  Base image left: Sanne White base: Shelly Mid level, taped pot: RenĆ©e Dried bunches, mid level and top: Eva and JoschaĀ 

A plant tower composed of plants in my room. All the plants are given to me by friends,Ā as gifts.Ā 



Tower with objects in the gallery

Steven van den bosch




Alice's tower

This tower is like a condensed version of my room and as I believe my room is a part of me, it is like a condensed version of myself. This tower is like a mini me basically. Kind of messy, in movement, balancing, with a lot of details, colours, patterns, plants. It contains elements that matters for me, presents, collections, daily, survival, practical or symbolical.




Deimion's tower



Clement's tower.

This is my tower. My tower is built on comfortable fondations. One goes in the family and the other was collected on the way. On top a beautiful table negotiated with my father on my grandma' money, in a design style which has everyone will undoubtedly notice clearly underlies that I'm growing somewhat bourgeois with age. Because I think that life without a little challenge is not fun the table is crooked. But because I also think that to build something decent in life it still needs to be solid, I stabilise it on the way with what I can find. Here a good looking wood plank I found on my last run. The tower is built with wood, glass, rocks and fancy fabrics as it should. At the root of every tower there are legos, a healthy nutrition and good manners - Ginette Mathiot covered the last two for over a century back home. I recently learned there is also physical condition beyond simple luck. There are naturally good tools, and it's not forbidden to be served some luck on a silver tray or to be raised with silver spoons. In the core of a tower there are books and crazy engineered machineries. Many books that you'll never find time to read. But also books that triggers imagination and poetry while taking you seriously, and on this note my collection of the little prince in various language fits right in. As I build a tower I hope there'll be a few adventures along the way. There should also be some records, maybe a panda or a monkey, and a little violence. There should be laughter and comics, yes, you're welcome. And if it takes me a while I'm hoping that Nantes might win another championship eventually. And once built, I shall bath in joy and remember all the people who are dear to me and enjoy the view of all the memories I could collect on the way. I should definitely have some pictures and obviously some rocks, and maybe already the next projects. Because I don't think you suddenly decide to build a tower if you don't want to show off a peck, I state my name and put my game of Legend of Mana on display. I top it up with a disco ball, where it belongs. And all the way on top, I keep this little house my grandma' offered me when I was a kid, making me promise her I'd never lose it. And when I look back at it I don't see a single item without a story and that makes me pretty damned pleased. And because life goes fast and as I mentioned there isn't much fun without challenge I take this picture quick because my army knife is sliding down the table. And now I have great pleasure putting everything back in order, thank you so much for this splendid idea Ivan (I'm sorry I forgot the toilet paper).


Kinkerstraat tower of babel




Zsofi

This is my Tower of Present. I've built a tower from a few objects what are very present in my life right now. Some of them are not just functioning as objects but reminders and activities I do pretty much daily. Like singing and listening. And watch lots of David Attenborough nature programmes. Other items are pens and pencils and my journal - this is a daily ritual for me. Books - trying to read more these days. Salt and Pepper and my turquoise casserole pan - I cook a lot. Coffee and biscuits - all day every day all the way! Laptop to connect, to listen to music, for working, to educate myself and learn and to watch even more David Attenborough šŸ˜… Other items are: hairbrush, hair oil - coconut scent, my pillow and sweet dreams eye'thing', my plant/s - these are close by me every day.



bottom of page